2010’s Decisions That Just Happen to Be Made in January

For those who have loyally followed our Southern Fried lives since last January (by the way Happy Birthday to our blog!!!), you may recall my utter trepidation of New Year’s Resolutions. Yes my heart is beating a tad faster just thinking about them.  But alas, if you’re going to change anything in your life (or make “decisions” as I like to say), then I suppose a great time to do it is when everything is new…new year, new decade, new third number in the 20 sequence, etc. etc. So without further ado, here are the Darlin’s decisions that just happen to be made in January.

#1. No one said that the previous year’s decisions couldn’t carry over…yes I’m still deciding to lose that last 12.

Yes it’s true.  While I have made a conscious effort to eat healthy and exercise regularly (hey I haven’t gained weight), I have not busted my butt quite enough to trim off that last dozen (kinda brings ‘baker’s dozen’ into a whole new light).  However, I have gotten this year off to a good start with regular workouts and lots of veggies, fruits and lean meats to satisfy my palette. I just have to remember that the key to everything is moderation. As long as I maintain moderation (especially with my sweet tooth), I feel certain I can attain this in 2010.

#2. Keep in touch.

I’m very grateful for the independent spirit that my parents instilled in me.  It has allowed me to go places and do things that I’d never do otherwise. There’s no telling where I’d be but for my willingness to step out on a limb all by myself.  But the downfall? Friends and family can easily slip through the cracks as I trek through life independently.  Being in a serious relationship has helped tremendously, as I am learning everyday about doing life with someone else and what exactly that looks like. But there’s no question that I’ve allowed loved ones to take the back seat of an extra-long, Duggar-esque multi-passenger van while I hum along in the driver’s seat, occasionally hollering over my shoulder to check in and see if everything’s ok. Add a boyfriend to the equation, and you get the picture…I’m in need of communication changes.  So this year I want to do a better job of keeping in touch with friends and family.  No, I may not be able to hang with the gals like I did in my single days (frankly I can’t stay up that late anymore), but I can make a better effort of calling, emailing and initiating activities with my pals.  And no matter what’s going on in life, Mom and Dad deserve regular calls. So take note, AT&T…I’m about to take mega-advantage of all those roll-over minutes I’ve been hording!

That’s it. I know it’s not much, but if I let the record speak for me, then I probably shouldn’t even have two on here.  Happy 2010!

-DC Darlin’

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

