Closing the Door on the Summer of Bad News

Being in DC has provided, among other things, an outlet for the “need to know now and before everyone else” side of me to grow and thrive like wildfire in Southern Cal. DC is such a fast-paced, news-centric city and this Southern extrovert can’t help but get sucked into the madness. For instance if you rode with me to work every morning you’d likely be listening to C-SPAN radio, as it provides a thorough commentary from guests that, in many cases, are making legislation just an arms-throw away from me (I still find this so awesome even after two years of living here.  Yes, I am aware that this incredibly nerdy.)

Another news-junkie action I promptly enacted upon moving to DC was enabling my FireFox browser with RSS feeds from CNN.com, as well as signing up for Breaking News emails to come directly to my Outlook.  So not only can I peruse the latest headlines at a nano-second’s notice, but I also know the late breaking news before everyone!!!! (insert BWAHAHAHA here). And of course by everyone I mean anyone less of a dork than me. Luckily though, there are many out there, ignorant to the vital information that they need to know, and that I, the news junkie, can provide.

What I did not anticipate when I began my swift decline into media madness, however, was 2009’s incredibly dismal summer of bad news! Between Michael Jackson, Jon & Kate, murders of parents with 8 kids in the house, and psychos hiding children in their backyards for decades, this summer has been an insane wealth of unbelievably bad news. Last week, after catching myself being sucked in by a horrific story about a couple of kids in the UK who nearly mutilated other neighborhood children (don’t go searching for it, it isn’t worth it), I finally decided enough was enough. I was ending the summer of bad news.

Now, I didn’t go as far as to remove my CNN feeds (although I thought about it). But I DID actually subscribe to another…allow me to introduce you to HappyNews.com! HappyNews finds the GOOD stuff going on around the world and puts it in one place so you don’t have to sift through the sicko junk to find it. I decided to now go to HappyNews for my ‘fix’ and only open CNN for legit information (and ‘legit’ does not include herrendous murders, sicko kidnappers, etc.).  There are so many great things happening every single day, and I hope to make a habit of becoming a junkie about these stories, as opposed to the media shockers that can so easily suck me in.  So on top of an incredible Alabama football team, my new consumption of good news should lead to a Fall of Joyful Elation.

smiley-face

~DC Darlin’

1 Comment

Filed under DC Life, My Life - DC Darlin', News

One response to “Closing the Door on the Summer of Bad News

Leave a Reply

