Tarantino, the true “Basterd” of dark comedy

Last night Mr. PC and I finally ventured out to see Tarantino’s latest “Inglourious Basterds,” a film we’ve greatly anticipated and painfully endured commentary by our friends who made it to the theater before us. I must say the wait, no matter how painful it was, was worth it.

There are two types of movie-goers these days: those who like Tarantino, and those who don’t.  I happen to be quite the fan.  I consider myself an ‘surprised fan’ because frankly I had no interest at all in his gory display of cinema roll until Mr. PC sat me down on a rainy Saturday and introduced me to “Kill Bill, Vols. 1 &2.”  I admit that at times I must cover my eyes, because I do get squeamish with blood and guts, but the overall plot lines are sometimes worth it.  For those of you who don’t know, his latest, starring none other than our heavenly-sent star Brad Pitt, is a historical inaccuracy take on Nazi Germany.  Originally meant to be a western (pay attention and you will certainly pick up on this), Tarantino portrays his own, unique idea (perhaps desire) as to what really ended the war and reign of “The Fuhrer.”  And man wouldn’t it have been something if that really was the ending.  Tarantino takes a daring shot at a big, fat ‘F*$& YOU” (southern belles don’t use profanity) to Nazi Germany.  And boy was it GLORIOUS.  His wit and humor play throughout and humanize a dark period in our history books.  Pitt shines as a slow talking southerner (southernfried!) who uses his Apache roots to take on the Nazi party with gorilla military tactics—even so much as obtaining scalps as trophies.  Despite his mass popularity and dashing, drooling, dream-every-night-worthy good looks, Pitt is brilliant, never breaking character and really personifying a passionate, perpetual hate for Nazis and those who stain our history.

Perhaps the most convincing (=brilliant) role was played by Christoph Waltz as “Hans Lander,” or affectionately (or not) nicknamed “The Jew Hunter.”  Originally set to star Leonardo DiCaprio as Lander, Waltz delivers a performs that is so convincing I found my fist tensed in several cases and truly, with all my heart, hated his guts from start to finish.  He is the Reese Witherspoon of Election, the Rachel McAdams of Mean Girls and all those nasty biOtches who take on the silver screen—and he’s a damn good actor. Tarantino even quips that Lander just might be his best character ever written—and I can imagine he is patting himself on the back for his casting.

Other, more familiar faces include: Diane Kruger, as a clumsy-but-trying-to-help actress/spy; Mike Meyers, a commissioner to the grand finale; B.J. Novak of The Office!; among others.  A performance not to be forgotten is that of Melanie Laurent, who plays the owner of a humble cinema and a Jewish French woman on the run. She has changed her name and banished her Jewish roots out of need for survival.

I could talk for hours, but I won’t b/c the box offices might sue me.  So take my word for it, go see it. You will not be sorry. If anything, it gives hope for a better humanity.  We need to remember our blemishes as humans, even if they are hurtful and scary—it will force us to evolve past our heathen beginnings.  And of course, it stars Brad Pitt. 🙂

Inglourious_Basterds_poster

sources & more info

Love, Big Apple Belle

2 Comments

Filed under Pop Culture

2 responses to “Tarantino, the true “Basterd” of dark comedy

  1. MPC

    Hi Baby,

    I was reading a review (written by a Jewish critic). He stated that the Jews had become Nazis in the film and were violent and nasty. Well I don’t think the Jews were Nazis in the film. Sometimes barbarism is necessary in the face of Nazis. I still sympathized with the Jews in the film and though the Nazis deserved everything that happened to them.

    Looval.

  2. WRB

    Excuse me – but are you saying that Reese Witherspoon and Rachel McAdams are great actresses???

Leave a Reply

