Chick Lit that ‘Sucks’…in the literal sense (warning: title does not imply what you are thinking, read on…)

I’m 26 years old. I was once a member of a book club. And though I enjoyed the chit chat and monthly gatherings, I found myself unsatisfied by the selections that were continuously voted in month after month. Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate good literature and should state for the record that if you haven’t read the ‘classics’ you should, but (big fat BUT) I successfully survived high school and College English courses, so I feel like I’ve earned the right to unapologetically read my self-proclaimed ‘chic lit’ with no shame or durress.  And with that, I introduce you to my latest batch of excitement: Sookie Stackhouse series ‘Dead and Gone.”

sookieI understand and acknowledge that some people find my choice in literature to be a bit weak.  There are not heartfelt stories (okay the occasional heartstring here and there), or life-changing memoirs.  You get what you pay for, and I for one find my $7.99 paperback novel to be WELL worth it’s price tag. 🙂 I live in reality. Every single day. I’m dealing with this shitty economy, a stressful job load, and other every day horrors you read in the daily newspaper. So why the hell would I want to curl up with a book that doesn’t in any way displace me from reality?  Yes, I find it silly to indulge in a world where vampires and werewolves not only exist, but are battling a never-ending war to save (or in some cases, destroy) the world. But it’s fun! It’s lighthearted and I know that no way in hell will it ever in a million years happen in reality.  And I take comfort in that.  Because no matter how badly my day sucks, I’d imagine it doesn’t compare to being sucked dry by a hungry vampire.  Needless to say, I am beyond excited about the announcement of the release of the 9th sookie in May 2009.  Bring on the steamy love scenes with hot 1,000 year old Viking Eric. 🙂  (and for those of you who are fans of HBO’s Trueblood—I’d like to state for the recond that I was on this boat long before it became a Sunday night favorite.)

6 Comments

Filed under Boston Life

6 responses to “Chick Lit that ‘Sucks’…in the literal sense (warning: title does not imply what you are thinking, read on…)

  1. AMY

    I will have to agree with BB. This series is fantastic! I just finished the first one and can’t wait to go buy number two….and for those that live in the south, you can get this book for $5.99 at Target!

  2. Yeah girl, you rock! To read is (also) to escape. Nicely said!

  3. Artemis

    Absolutely! Charlaine rocks! Put Laurell K. Hamilton on your list too. A little more bloodly and violet, but pure escapism.

  4. You go, girl! I’m more of a true horror book reader myself, but I’m ALL about the escapism in this economy!

  5. Mikerph

    Interesting article. I too like to read “low mental expenditure” novels,ie. James Bond, Star Trek, Dirk Pitt, and assorted sci-fi and spy novels. It does a body(and soul) good to rest the brain from the stresses and strains of everyday life; sort of a psychological vacation as it were. Very insightful comments, keep up the good work, belle. The Prof.

Leave a Reply

